When you’re 19, you think you’re invincible…

Have you ever felt like you was alone and helpless?

Now I’m not claiming to be a professional or anything, and I’m not saying I know it all, but if you’re out there and you are struggling, I might be able to help.

I joined the Infantry when I left school, still wet behind the ears as they would say. A few days after my 19th birthday, I was sent over to Afghanistan. Now when you’re that age, you think you’re invincible, you think everything is going to be ok, that nothing bad will happen. But it does. Your friends die. Your mates lose limbs. You realise real quick that your not invincible. But you have to just put it to the back of your mind when your out there because you’re back out on patrol the next day, and you have to have a clear head if you want to get you and your friends back alive.

So what happens is it gets ‘put away’. Right to the back of the mind. But it doesn’t stay there forever.

Fast forward to 2011. I had been back from Afghanistan around 6 months. I wasn’t adjusting. Things started to get me down. Guilt, fear, anxiety, flashbacks. Now without getting into too much detail, I gave up. I didn’t want to be apart of this world anymore, and I came close to succeeding in that mission. (Obviously I didn’t succeed, I’m still here right! πŸ˜‚).

So things get back on track, everything seems ok. But I had one problem, I didn’t really deal with the issue, I just put it to the back of my mind again.

Fast forward to 2016. It happens again. Total breakdown. All hope is gone.

UNTIL I GOT HELP!

Now that’s when my life really changed, when I changed my MIND. I worked on the way my thoughts affected me. And I cracked it πŸ’ͺ Now I am a different person altogether, my life has meaning, has purpose, and most of all I AM HAPPY!

Now if you feel like you’ve gone down the same road, or you are just struggling and feel alone and helpless, then feel free to message me and I can let you know how I did it. Even if you just need a shoulder or someone to listen to you, I am here.

Have a wonderful day,

James x

Watch the video here! (Opens new window)

Follow me on Facebook…

Follow me on Instagram…

Follow me on Twitter…

Leave a Reply

